Medical Moment: When was the last time you checked your Blood Pressure?

photo-1

High blood pressure (HBP) is a serious condition that can lead to coronary heart disease, heart failure, stroke, kidney failure, and other health problems.

Less than 120 is normal. Blood pressure doesn’t stay the same all the time. It lowers as you sleep and rises when you wake up. Blood pressure also rises when you’re excited, nervous, or active. If your numbers stay above normal most of the time, you’re at risk for health problems. The risk grows as blood pressure numbers rise. “Prehypertension” means you may end up with HBP, unless you take steps to prevent it.

Myths About High Blood Pressure

1) Myth. High blood pressure runs in my family. There is nothing I can do. I will get it too.

2) Myth. I don’t use table salt, so I’m in control of my sodium intake and my blood pressure isn’t affected.

3) Myth. I use kosher or sea salt when I cook instead of regular table salt. They are low-sodium alternatives.

4) Myth. I feel fine. I don’t have to worry about high blood pressure.

5) Myth. People with high blood pressure have nervousness, sweating, difficulty sleeping and their face becomes flushed. I don’t have those symptoms so I must not have high blood pressure.

High blood pressure should be taken serious. See your doctor or stop any of your local Fire Station for [free] testing.

6 thoughts on “Medical Moment: When was the last time you checked your Blood Pressure?

  1. Pingback: Bad Night | foodmyfrenemy

  2. Simply desire to say your article is as surprising. The clarity on your submit is simply cool and i can assume you are knowledgeable in this subject. Fine with your permission let me to take hold of your feed to stay updated with imminent post. Thanks a million and please continue the rewarding work.

  3. I do not even know the way I finished up here, but I believed this publish used to be good. I do not know who you might be however certainly you’re going to a famous blogger in case you aren’t already. Cheers!

  4. This blog was… how do I say it? Relevant!!
    Finally I have found something that helped me.
    Thank you!

  5. I love reading a post that can make people think.

    Also, many thanks for allowing for me to comment!

  6. You are my inhalation, I possess few web logs and extremely sporadically run out from post :). “Tis the most tender part of love, each other to forgive.” by John Sheffield.

Leave a Reply

